Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In today’s world, trait of altruism seems to be long gone because of frequent incidents of perfidy or homicide due to jealousy. For instance, the government of nepal which had strong relations with India started interfering into internal matters and shaking hands with the nemesis of India. Despite such incidents ruling all over media, there seems some ray of hope with the presence of personalities like Ratan Tata who have generously donated for the welfare of people.

But can all these charitable actions done by influential people truly be deemed as altruistic? No. Many of the charities opened up by stars and big companies are simply for attracting more and more people to their product with the ultimate aim of increasing their own worth. For instance, Actor Salman Khan is know to run a lot of charities and support them with the help of his hard earned money in film industry. But the truth is, he has been advised to do this to portray himself as philanthropist and evade the hit-and-run charges and killing of endangered black buck species. He is also known to have engaged with underworld gang like Dawood for his own personal interests. Therefore, even these seemingly good works by influential people can be specious and might be just like a veneer to hide their clandestine works.

Some people argue against the claim that professions like teachers or doctors are sacred and the people who choose such fields do simply for the fun of serving people. Doctors spend majority of their life studying and mastering various subjects in order to correctly diagnose and treat their patients. They accept fees as part of feeding and maintaining their clininc and home. Teachers also impart their knowledge and experience to the students for the betterment of student’s future. They do it with no avarice since they are not stakeholders of the future of their students.

However, the professions considered as sacred has now been polluted with devious methods opted by various institutions to attract more people and earn more money. These altruistic tasks has now been converted to money minting jobs, making owners richer and more powerful. For example, Allen career coaching institute, inarguably one of the biggest coaching centres for preparing students for IIT-JEE entrance exam has been reported to have involved in money laundering cases and buying top ranks to showcase their success. With the acquired money, Allen buys top teachers from across the country, rendering the previous students studying under that teacher helpless and forcing them to buy their courses with costs hefty fees. Therefore, even the sacred task of teaching has been corrupted by power of money.

In view of above examples and arguments, it is evident that work done by people is not independent of their own self interest. It is the foundation of carrying out any task, be it charitable task or engaging in activities that were considered to be pious. Though, there still is hope if common people start denouncing these devious acts and start bringing up altruistic people for carrying out tasks.