The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The budget planner raised a valid concern to eliminate funding by Grandview city to Grandview symphony so that the city can possibly concentrate on more important issues. However, the argument presented by the budget planner lacks congency and evidences to support the recommendation.

The budget planner states that according to the agreement signed between Grandview city and Grandview symphony, the funding from city would stop once the symphony becomes self sustaining. But, the budget planner failed to mention whether the city is obliged to cover annual expenditures of symphony, if it once again goes down the hill after becoming self sustaining or not. If the city has agreed to pay for symphony after it loses it self-sufficiency, then the city would have to settle the penury issues of symphony, and thus, the recommendation would not stand valid then.

Also, the budget planner fails to mention the percentage of annual expenditure covered by city over the past years and the debt symphony might have accumulated in the span of ten years. If the city did not cover enough expenses of the symphony, then the symphony would have been coerced in issuing loans from banks in order to sustain. The increased private contributions might have been used up in clearing the accumulated debt and thus rendering them to zero loss-zero profit status. If the city cuts off its supply, then the symphony will cease to exist. If this is true, then the recommendation would lose its value. Thus, the city also needs to compare the profit against accumulation of debts or losses faced by symphony.

Furthermore, the memo fails to provide any evidence whether the conductor, who brought in internationally acclaimed musical artist to perform with symphony is still associated with symphony or not. If associated, would the symphony be able to pay his salary even without funding from city? If not, then it would not br fruitful to accept the recommendation as it would deteriorate the condition of symphony. If not associated, then is the symphony capable of attracting musical artist from other parts of the world or not? If they are not capable without support from city, it would be illogical to let go of present profits of symphony by adhering to recommendation.

Planning budget accordingly to the needs of different sectors is very important task. It should be done by thoroughly analyzing the requirements of different sectors and the adverse conditions faced by them. The budget planner put forth an argument full of holes and assumptions without providing supporting evidences, making the recommendation inapplicable.