Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author has advocated a very important concern of skating without proper protective gear resulting in fatal accidents causing them to visit emergency rooms of hospital. However, the author argument lacks cogency and is rife with holes and assumptions.

Author has used hospital statistics to imply the need for protective equipment. But, the number of such cases are not highlighted in hospital statistics. If the number of such fatal cases are very low like 10 cases against a total total skaters of 1000+, then it implies that sufficient number of skaters wear protective equipment and the recommendation suggested by author is already being followed by many skaters making the recommendation futile.

Also, the statistics does not indicate the place of accidents and financial status of victims. If majority of the fatal accidents occur in rural areas where skaters are not able to afford protective equipment, the recommendation does not serve any useful purpose since they lack the financial means to get high quality protective gears. As an example, if 90% of the 75% accidents involve kids from poor neighbourhoods, then expecting them to afford expensive protective equipment is quixotic. Instead, they should be donated decent protective gear to help them keep away minor injuries. In view of these examples, the recommendation would have carried lot more meaning if these factors were also incorporated in the statistics.

The author failed to address the reason of accident. If the skaters were travelling at very high speeds beyond their control, then even wearing expensive protective equipment would have served no useful purpose. If this is true, then the skaters should be taught basic rules like speed limit which they lack in instead of handing expensive equipment. Moreover, if majority of accidents happened in areas where car owners drive at high speeds, skaters should be restricted in these areas instead of simply handing over protective gears to ensure less number of accidents take place. For instance, if majority accidents occur near highway where cars pass by at high speed, then the most viable solution is to prohibit skating near highway.

Safety is of utmost importance when performing any activity, especially those involving risk. Therefore, safety gears are necessity while performing any activity like skating to avoid injuries having detrimental consequences. However, the author failed to address other possibilities and concerns engendering from those possibilities. Argument presented by author is not persuasiveto enforce compulsory protective equipment while skating.