Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In a quickly changing and complex world, dealing with multiple facets of research takes a pressing challenge that demands a deeper investigation. Thus, it is debatable whether to limit the range of investigation for researchers since it is impossible to predict the outcome of research. I agree with the statement that research should not be limited to exploring only immediately applicable investigations. I also agree with the reason that research has unpredictable outcomes. Although it is difficult to implement scientific applications immediately, it can still be meaningful in many fields.

First, many benefits besides an immediate application can be made by not limiting the investigation in the field of technology. For example, Tesla is a revolutionary vehicle corporation founded by Elon Musk. It produces an electrical vehicle that greatly benefits the environment by lowering gas emissions that come out of vehicles. Since the electrical vehicle was the first implementation in the world, this state-of-the-art technology needed a long time to be applied in daily life. However, since Elon Musk did not limit the area of technological development, people are now available for electronic cars that give a betterment of society.

Second, the advantages of no limitation in investigations in research can be found in the field of medicine. Take the Coronavirus vaccine, for example. During the pandemic crisis in 2019, the world needed a new vaccine to defy COVID-19. Due to the harsh situation, researchers needed to make a new vaccine as soon as possible, so the government unlimited the investigations by alleviating the intensity of the law that assesses the vaccine’s feasibility. As a result, people were able to be provided with effective vaccines such as Pfizer, and Moderna.

In summary, no limitation in scientific investigation has more benefits that prosper a nation. Even though it is difficult to predict the outcome of research, the outcome will be prestigious when it does succeed.