Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

The growth of mankind has skyrocketed in merely past couple of centuries. It was only about 300 years ago when Benjamin Franklin discovered electricity and today we are building reusable rockets for space travel. This huge leap of incredible growth and advancement has been possible mostly because of rigorous research in various domains. The prompt claims that scientists should expand their research areas beyond investigating something that has immediate practical application. I wholeheartedly support this notion and I would like to strengthen my views by providing two examples as follows.

Firstly, the very core definition and essence of research means that one is looking for something that one may or may not find. In fact, 75% of the research ever done in any field has never yielded anything substantial and thus lies a good possibility that the researcher might not find what they are looking for. Take the example of researches going on in the field of genetic research. There are numerous Genetic researches in hundreds of facilities all around the globe which are attempting to modify the core human DNA and make human beings impervious to diseases, enhance their physical limitation and even avoid mortality. The investigations have been going on since decades, yet, there is still not a single tangible outcome out of these researches. Millions and millions of dollars have been spent, yet the researchers still don't have anything to show for it. These kinds of researches, though directed towards a specific practical application, might end up being a futile attempt in the long run and the whole effort will be in vain if the researchers limit their focus on only the intended research outcome. But at the same time, many important advancements and discoveries have been made which are not the expected outcomes of such researches and rather, the by-product.

Furthermore, there are countless discoveries in the past which changed the course of human advancement and ended-up being a huge milestone in human history. In particular, I am referring to those discoveries which are made by 'accident'. Yes, there are many instances where the researchers were looking for something else but wound-up discovering something which was either completely unrelated or even opposite to their intended outcome. One such important discovery is Penicillin. It is well-known that Penicillin was discovered by a veteran doctor by accident and ever since, this medication has saved countless lives against a number of lethal infections. Had the said doctor been stringent to this expected outcome, he might have thrown away this miraculous drug. Clearly, even though one do not get the intended results of a specific research, keeping their investigation areas open could definitely lead to discoveries of something else which might be a boon in other aspects.

Sure, some might argue that it does not make sense for a researcher to investige something that does not even have a practical application. But again, in research, you never know what could lead to what? A scientist looking for something found something that has no practical application and another research initiative found something that changed the course of human history. Both scenarios are equally plausible. And for this reason, along with the examples stated above, I firmly believe that research should not be limited to only those areas where we can see an immediate practical application and rather, shall be open to all kinds of possibilities. Be that as it may, even after coming so far, human race has barely scratched the surface of all the possibilites this universe lies within it.