Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Scholars, practitioners, and administrators have diverging views on how and whom we should learn from. Inter alia, one dominant approach is that we learn more from people whose views we share, instead of those whose views contradict our own. A commonly cited explanation for this claim is that disagreement can cause stress and inhibits learning. However, this essay refutes this position as it argues that we can benefit from disagreements and thus also benefit by learning from those whose views disagree with ours. Yet, I do concede that there is limit to this point if the differences are too vast amongst people.

To begin, there are a great number of creativity-related benefits to be attained if we learn from people whose views contradict our own. Indeed, a recent article from The Economist suggests that we are able to come up with not only more ideas, but also better ones if interact with people who have opposing views than ours. For instance, a school in Chandigarh was able to come up with a brilliant solution to its recycling issue by forming a committee with people from varied educational and professional backgrounds. Since they all brought different views, skills, and experiences to the table, they were able to come up with an affordable and achievable solution to the school’s problem. It is questionable if this outcome would have been achieved if the committee only consisted of people who held the same views. Thus, divergence in views helps us to reach higher forms of creativity.

Secondly, we are able to become better, more tolerant, and inclusive human beings by learning and accepting the views of those who disagree with us. That is, there are clear moral benefits to be attained if we can learn not only to accept dissent, but be open to learning from it. A recent article from the Journal of Organizational Behaviour supports this view as it found that children who learn to be comfortable with disagreements and learning from others’ opposing views tend to be more patient and tolerant beings in their later years. Given the current adverse political and racial environment, it seems we all would benefit greatly if we all became more tolerant through learning from each other.

Moreover, learning from others who hold different views enables us to enrich our lives both qualitatively and quantitatively as we can broaden our horizons. Indeed, people who are willing to learn from people who belong to other cultures than their own can likely to testify for this. By exposing our minds to new cultures, we can enjoy in new foods, customs, dances, songs, and myriad other arenas. Such benefits would likely lead to a greater quality of life for us and in turn longer lives. A recent study cited in the New York Times bolsters this point as it found that our lifespans increase through cultural enrichment. Hence, the benefits of learning from others not only apply to learning-related benefits, but also health benefits.

Lastly, it is fair to concede that learning from others can inhibit learning and lead to stress if the differences are too vast. In this scenario, people are unlikely to learn from each other. Instead, it is likely that any attempt to interact with others who hold starkly contrasting views from you can have deleterious effects on one’s psychology and health. For example, learning from people who hold racist, ethnocentric, and xenophobic beliefs is likely not conducive to the enhancement of one’s growth, but also a society’s as well. Indeed, the history of Nazi Germany can attest for this. Notwithstanding this one particular scenario, there is still a lot of benefits from learning from others’ opposing views, especially if people are willing to do so.

In conclusion, the issue of learning from others whose views contradict ours is a complicated one. While this essay has acknowledged that there are limits to this, it still presses for the case that there are great benefits to be attained if we are open and accepting of others’ views. Indeed, in order to have a better world, we should all at least be a bit more susceptible to each other’s ideas than we currently are now.