Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Learning is one of the most important phase through which almost everyone passes. It not only helps a person in stabilizing mentality but also in burgeoning knowledge. If a person is erudite and works at elite position of any corporation's is definitely a person who is capable of solving every problem corporation faces in due amount of time only on the basis of knowledge which is specifically earned through learning. Learning helps in innovation which eventually helps in solving problems faced in daily basis. Obviously, one gets recognized as smart, erudite, person of respective space of business or science.

Even in history we can find evidence of rivalry which lead to discovery of solution which exists till the date. For example, Thomas Edison vs Nikola Tesla, both are recognized as great inventor of 20th century. This rivalry of solving of crazy invention which solved the problem of electricity transmission. Tesla, invented AC i.e. alternating current just to solve the problem of transmission. Somehow, the intuitive mind lead to invention of solution which exist till date is widely used.

Same thing can be observed in case of India and Pakistan which are enemies of each other. Being enemy does matter but making country recognized on international level with huge infrastructure and high rate of development matters the same occur with India. Today, India is leading world on various aspects like technology, space exploration, manufacturing and much more. While Pakistan is on verge of bankruptcy and is seeking loan from various organizations and countries. In this example view of Pakistan contradict with India but instead of working on negative side it helped in positive and one can learn from them how to keep working on our development without caring for others.

This kind of behaviour doesn't help in every aspect like Russian Federation (erstwhile USSR) and United States of America both are rivals of each other but they too collaborate on various aspects like nuclear treaty, international space station and much more. Helping each other in space exploration benefits on whole human being by getting information about foreign particles of spaces, GPS i.e. Global Positioning System and many more.

I do partially agree with the both claim and reasons as critics sometime helps in learning while collaborating helps in developing new technology and solve various problems. It totally depends on what we are trying to learn and expertise do matter in every part of problem. It not only guide us on solving problem but also on solving it efficiently with taking care of environment and human kind too.