Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

The author of the claim believed that since disagreement causes stress and inhibits learning, people can learn more if they learn from others who share similar views. This belief implies that having common thoughts is beneficial to learning. However, learning and education is a process of constant challenges. If scholars never questioned past scientific theories, the society would still believe that the Earth was flat and was the center of the universe. Although uncomfortable, dissonance is the catalyst that compels people to strive to improve, either to find evidence to verify their argument or to search for contradictions to refute their opponents.

Some people who adhere to a vegetarian diet believe that the consumption of meat is deleterious to the human body. If they happen to meet meat enthusiasts, the two parties are likely to disagree over the impact of meat consumption on health. While the consumption of meat could cause people to digest more fat than necessary, meat still contains salubrious nutrients such as iron, a mineral rarely found in plant-based diets. If vegetarians only discussed the properties of meat with like-minded people, they are unlikely to know the positive benefits of the consumption of meat and are likely to simply repeat ideas shared within vegetarian communities. Although their conversation with a meat lover could be frustrating, they might in fact be enlightened by previously unknown facts about meat, provided that they are willing to listen.

When arguments have been rejected and persuasive statements have failed to convince, disagreements tend to be annoying. However, this could be the force that motivates people to strive for improvement. For example, when Copernicus proposed that the sun was the center of the universe, the academia mocked him for his ridiculous thinking. Nevertheless, this setback became an encouragement for Copernicus as he rigorously studied differing thoughts to debunk them and validate his own. If people only learned from others who share the same view, they would not have the motivation to explore and innovate. Distinct thoughts often push academics to endeavor to learn more to demonstrate that they have been right and their critics have been wrong.

Some people might argue that a person can learn more from those who share similar views because this person can learn in a positive learning environment. This argument is ultimately flawed because the learning performance of a person is not entirely based on the learning environment. In fact, as aforementioned, sometimes disagreements are the optimal fuel that drives a person to pursue knowledge more.

In conclusion, although disagreement could cause stress and preclude learning, people are not guaranteed to learn much more from those who share similar perspectives. Opposing views can broaden perspectives and introduce novel concepts. In addition, they might incenticize people to work harder to bridge their own research gaps and exploit weaknesses in opposing arguments.