Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Learning is involved in each and every stage of life. We learn not only from our teachers but also from our surrounding and people around us. People who have role in our lifes are the one who teaches us the most rather it be good or bad. But, it is not always necessary that our view goes in hand in hand with other people. Sometimes, we can learn much more from the people with whom we share no common views than the ones we have no contradiction of views.

Firstly, thinking that we can learn more from people sharing same ideology can stop us from growing. As we are creating a bubble around us and we are afraid to pop it and face the reality. But, once we try to encounter, understand and analyse whether the contradicting views have a valid point or not it will indeed benefit us. For instance, while playing cricket some players may think they know everything and would not listen to their coach as their views are clashing. Such attitude is reflected through their wrong and poor gameplay. Thus, if they tried to understand their coach's strategy they would have performed well.

Furthermore, some people have an opinion that having disagreement causes stress and inhibit learning. But, this completely depends on the how we pursue the difference in the views. If, we are ready to keep our ego aside and give the person a chance to explain their view, maybe we can understand without any stress. The best way to elaborate is the difference of views between boss and employee. If, an employee listens to the opinions of what boss is saying with a positive approach, surely it will benefit him or her. However, if the employee thinks that the boss is doing it on purpose and have a negative approach towards the view it will cause stress and also inhibit learning. This will in turn ihibit growth.

Lastly, yes sometimes it can be tiring and difficult to keep abreast with people having contradicting views. Nevertheless, we should not restrict ourselves with people sharing same views as they can never lead to our growth both as a person as well as in professional life. So, in my opinion if a we have a postive attitude then we can learn more from people having different views.