Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Opposing ideas and contradiction is the key for the individual to excel in any field: as the opposing ideas help the other party to rectify their errors. The prompt suggests that learning is better with the people with whom our views reconcile. I mostly agree with the given statement for the following reasons.

People with contradictory views have different ways of learning, understanding, and interpreting things. For an instance, when the apple fell on the head of Sir Isaac Newton, he did not see it as the object falling on the ground: rather, he saw it as the invisible force that is pulling the apple to the ground and the same force that is preventing the earth from collapsing in the sun. On the other hand, had there been a no different way of looking at things we would not be able to explore the mysteries of the universe and still live a prosaic life. For innovation to occur and people to find some groundbreaking we have to surpass the orthodox views. And, become an iconoclast sometimes.

The contradictory ideas are developed when people are finding it necessary if the existing visions do not exceed the expectations. The contradictory ideas are developed by correcting the fallacies that had previously existed, making the new ideas infallible. For an instance, previously people thought the earth was flat and had believed it to be so; however, the theories from ancient Greek and many more later in the line provided the evidence that the earth was actually round. So, the wrong in the belief that we had acknowledged at first was corrected then and at present, the new scientific equipment has helped provide concrete evidence.

Some might argue that we can learn from the people with whom our views reconcile. As they have been through the tides that we have been through. They have a better understanding of our situation and know when we need the push to excel. For an instance, if a student is suffering from dyslexia, then it would be better to hire a teacher, who understands the problem better and can help the student to excel. However, the only orthodox concept of teaching such students may not work as an individual student may need a different way of guidance.

In conclusion, some might argue that sharing similar ideas will help people to learn better, but they should also acknowledge the findings of people with contradictory views. As they have an innovative and better way of learning, understanding, and interpreting things than the orthodox ones.