College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statements states that schools and colleges should motivate their students to choose a field in which more jobs are available. The role of schools and colleges is to shape the future of their students, thus they should always give their students proper advice by which they can get better future. There are plenty of fields available for students to carry out their futher studies and make their carrier in it. But as the statement states, educational institutes should encourage students to choose only those fields in which jobs are easily available, might not always holds true. There are various others factors which need to looked before many any career decisions. Thus students should not solely choose their fields only by looking at job's perspective.

The various other factors like student’s interest, student’s skills, family background, financial status, also plays very important role while choosing field. For example, if student is not interested in computers but nowadays as computer engineers are having plenty of jobs if that student chooses computer engineering, then he might not become skilled coder and he might even find difficulties while coding. Thus, educational institutes should not solely encourage their students based on job availability.

Sometimes it may happen that trend changes due to technological innovations or social development, in that case number of jobs in particular fields are volatile. For example, in 19th and 20th century more focused on new discovery and inventions of new things, while in 21st century more efforts are put in automations and to decrease human labor by using computers ans smart devices. Thus it may happen that student chooses today student chooses computer engineering as it has plethora of jobs available but after completing his study maybe after 4-5 years the trend may change and there is no demand for new computer engineers, and as a result that student may find difficulty to get good job.

Furthermore, if all students only choose the fields having more job opportunities, then it is possible that only 5-10 major fields are chosen by students and as a result various other skills are hard to find. If this happens then it might hinder the growth of society because for proper development of society even minor skills are also required.

Thus, students should not choose their field by looking at job but they should choose field which can enhance their skills and help society to develop.