The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from vice president of company Sartorian which manufactures men's clothing states that they had discontinued alpaca overcoat five years ago as they were finding difficulties in obtaining supplies of high quality wool fabric, but author is asserting that the they should start its production again as they got new fabric supplier who can supply them wool fabric. And author is also assuming that it will be more profitable than earlier as overall prices in clothing have increased and also because at the time of discontinuation many customers had demand for it. To reach the conclusion that starting manufacturing alpaca overcoat again will be more profitable, author has relied on various assumptions. That assumptions might be not reliable in today's situation. The various possible assumptions are mentioned in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, the author has mentioned that they have new fabric supplier, but as author has mentioned that five years ago they had stopped production as no reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, but here author has failed to explain the quality of wool fabric by new supplier. It might happen that new supplier doesn't have high quality wool fabric. As the author is arguing to increase the profit of company but it may be the case that prices of wool fabric are set very high by new supplier, thus it might not increase their overall profit margin. Hence, author should mention the quality and price of wool fabric supplied by new supplier.

Secondly, the author has is expecting the great demand of alpaca coats considering the fact that there was outcry by their customers at a time of discontinuation of alpaca coat. But also mentioned in memo the aplaca coats were discontinued five years back, and it might be possible that fashion and trend have changed in five years, as result there might not be great demand for aplaca coat. Also it is mentioned that there was not competitors offer a comparable product at that time, but it might be possible that today plenty of such products are available from various manufacturers. Thus, author cannot rely only on the demand five years ago, they need to consider current scenario and demand before making such decision.

Finally, author had mentioned that overall increase in clothing prices will make Sarorian's alpaca coats more profitable than ever before, but here overall increase in clothing prices doesn't mean that clothes made from wool have also increased.

Thus author should consider all the assumptions mentioned above and should give proper explanations.