College students should be encouraged to pursue subject that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

The choice of college major is not trivial one. In fact, it is not common for entering students dropping our the program after months, perharps years, and then another decision is going to be ruining as the previous one is. The prompt recommends that students should listen their “inside heart voice” when choosing fields in their college study, rather than follow the current “hot trend” jobs. I sstrongly agree with the suggestion that students should look inward rather than outward when choosing a college for three reasons.

To begin, the job market is changing with dramatical speed. A hot job in a cretain decade can be the dying job in the following one. Therefore, choosing a profession based solely on the demanding of society is to take a short-term perspective. For example, in the 1950s through the 1980s, nuclear power had become a phenominon of society. it is not because of ther wide rages of applications in nuclear weapons , but also in the nuclear energy. At that time, scientists and engineerings working at this fields had received very competive salary and the job market on this field was very active. However, no sooner did the nagative effects of nuclear energy be raised, especially after the diaster in fukushima nuclear plant, then the this kind of energy is going to dimished and replaced by green enegry like bio-energy, solar, and wind energy. hence, a plenty amount of student who entering college in the 1970s, hardly got a job after graduation, because of the vacancy for this position was limited when the number of nuclear energy plants were eradicated. The example above demonstrated that the job market is significantly fluctuated by the time. hence if students choosing their future career solely based on the high opportunity to get a job at the time he or she make a decision, they might be soon get disappoirted when their chosen job lose the “hot” position on the market after four or five years of studying the colleges.

Furthermore, even if it is assumed that the job market is stable for at least ten years from the time of making a decision, students should pursue their own passion and penchan because of their happiness and satisfactions at working place. For example, if a student who is apssionate at drawing, but choose a computer science as he or she major because of plethora of lucrative job opportunity after graduation. she run the risks of finding herself in the field she hates. she might have hard days at college with plenty of abstract subjects and at the workplace later on. she might still run codes, complete the tasks before deadlines but she find no satisfation while doing those work. The scientists at Harward University recently proclaimed that happiness and life satisfation is closely related to their favorites at jobs. In other words, the example well illustrates typical case of students who did not do what they love and their work hardly bring to their life happiness.

In conclusion, students should follow their own inner voice in chosing a college or the major job, rather than randomly take a “hot” job on the market. because of the skyrocking changing of the demand on the market which hardly ensure the bright future with high job opportunity after graduation. it is also because of their own happiness and satisfation in life, which is achieved only by conducting their own dream jobs, not theirs, not the society’s ones.