The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of the WWAC radio station suggests a memorandum that they will change its form from rock-music to a news and talk format in order to increase the number of listeners to the radio station. The manager provided some evidence to support their suggestion. however, such evidence are very weak with a lack of numeric statistics. if the plan gave based on such evidence, it will hardly lead to intended results.

First, the manager gave evidence that the number of retired people has significantly increased in this area, which is the major proportion of listeners on the radio. hence, the music format should change to their preference. however, the manager give no specific statistics about the tastes of the retired people. it is possible that such retired people love rock music. Furthermore, the manager also did not give any data related to the qualification of their rock format that whether people like it or not. if the retired people in this are love rock but the quality of rock program on the radio dod nit satisfied them, the memorandum of the manager will no approach to the intended results.

Second, the manager suggests a change to a news and talk shows formats. but he failed to show a numeric statistic related to the proportion of listeners in the area like to such programs. it is possible that the major part of their audiors do not like to listen news or talk all of the day, and like to listen a story, novel. it is possible that the most citizens follows news and talk shows quequently, but they love to do it on the televison, but not the radio. hence, the manager should provide more realiable numeric before coming to the final recommendation.

Third, there are many reasons which lead to the decline of numbers of listeners. The format of the station is not the sole factor. it is possible that there is another station in this area which provides an interesting program in rock music and attracts numerous listeners to their station. it is possible that the quality of connection to the station was weaken by the long time in installation, which lead to the low quality of sound.

In conclusion, the manager should not generate a memorandum based on such unrealistic and weak evidence. Other detailed statistics should be carried out to verify such evidence before the plan was implemented.