College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Nowadays, people pursue a bachelor's degree or further education out of diverse purposes. one may regard such opportunity as a platform to expand their horizon, to develop their social network, or to acquire advanced knowledge from the renowned professors. others may see the degree as a doorstone to enter a cutting-edge profession. due to the distinctive purpose of the college education to each student, there is no single answer for whether to motivate them into a subject that complies with their interests and enthusiasm or offers a better job perspective. From my viewpoint, there exist, generally speaking, two different situations that will lead to three distinctive responses.

The first situation is the most ideal and perfect one, which is that the subject that interests the student happens to lead to a broad and opening job market. In contemporary society, information technology and computer science play a significant role in our daily life, and, thus, provide numerous job opportunities in this area. Thousands of graduates in related majors find a well-paid and satisfactory job in the Silicon Valley. Not only do they fully utilise the knowledge from college or university, but they also create value for the whole society without feeling boredom or wearisome. For instance, Mark Zuckerbuck, having shown talents in computer programing from an early age, chose computer science as his major in Harvard and establish his own electronic empire of Facebook.

The second condition is when the student's interests fall into the category with low employment rates, that is cannot guarantee a secured job afterward. In this case, financial status becomes a primary factor in the decision-making process. On one hand, if the student has a means to live a financially secured life, then it would be reasonable to choose an interesting subject which will bring happiness to his/her study, invoke his/her creativity, sparkle his/her desire to promote that subject. A recent report delivers a perfect example. A chinese mother started her education in nutrition after her first child was born. To her, the sole motivation behind her behavior is to foster and feed her baby in a more scientific way. without the worry of any financial difficulties, she chose the subject purely out of love and interests.

On the other hand, a vulnerable financial status may require the student to consider mindfully on the monetary reward on the educational investment. Several decades ago, there was a fad in biology that gravitated chinese high school graduates to choose a related subject in college in order to find a job afterward. At that time, the primary reason for most of the people to get a college degree was to free them from assiduous labor job. however, it is noteworthy that the interests and the subject chosen do not go against each other even in this case. Take Albert Einstein as an example. As a eminent physician, he kept his interests in music and practiced the violin for recreation. The music eased his nerve and might, indirectly, stimulate his creativity and inquisitiveness on his scientific work.

To sum up, due to the complexity and debatable nature of such a question, a justifiable answer will be varied in different situations, especially financial one. In short, there is nothing wrong to select the subjects that interest the students. however, the job prospect will also need to be prioritised in some certain conditions.