The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

In this letter, the editor states the correlation between the birth order and the stimulation levels of an individual based on some tenuous evidence and fallacious analogies. first, he cites the result of a recent study on the relevant subject. In addition, he established an analogical relation between the rhesus monkeys and human beings. Furthermore, he points out the cortisol level on pregnant female monkeys. At the first glance, his logic appears to be somewhat acceptable. However, after further scrutiny, I think there are three logical fallacies.

first, the recent examination on eighteen rhesus monkeys may not lead to a justifiable result, given the limited number of samples. whether eighteen is a number statistically significant enough is still under argument. Moreover, these monkeys may not be representative at all if they all come from the same habitants, or share a similar set of genealogical composition.

Secondly, though monkeys have the most similarity with human beings in various aspect, it is reasonable to question whether their hormonal secreting system is valid proximity of ours. thus, more information on the structure of the inner systems of monkeys needs to be provided for further consideration. Besides, the conspicuous differences between the stimulating situations designed for monkeys and humans also put the analogy into question. it is reasonable to assume that the encounter with an unfamiliar monkey and the return of a parent will trigger different levels of the hormone cortisol, since the former situation is most likely to make the monkeys afraid and restive, but the latter makes children happy and cheerful.

Finally, the higher levels of cortisol in the first-time mother monkeys than the rest of mother monkeys may due to several reasons. For example, it may simply due to anxiety and fear, and, thus, the phenomenon of higher hormonal levels will not pass on to its first baby monkey. The alternative explanation may also be the mother monkeys with several offspring are accustomed to deliveries and hide some perceptive symptoms of high cortisol levels, which mislead the investigators to believe that they have a lower level of cortisol.

To sum up, the evidence and assumptions provided for the editor's conclusion that the birth order plays a role in an individual's level of stimulation are not valid. To make his conclusion stronger, he needs to provide more information on the selection criteria on the eighteen monkeys in the study, and state more meticulously on all the factual basis for his analogies.