College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“Real success is achieved only by following the passion, not by money.” Infact a person can live a jovial and affluent life only when he converts passion to work. The prompt suggests that students should be motivated towards the subject that lies inside their heart but not for the subject that fixes the job in near future. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that students should follow their heart while choosing their courses for two reasons:

Job availability in apex is ephemeral. So, choosing your study in accordance to job demand is nothing but foolishness. For instance, in 2015, Nepal had faced a high magnitude of earthquake, due to which tremendous number of houses, buildings and real estate properties were destroyed. Later on, the demand for civil engineer reached very high. The engineers were hired in very high packages. But nowadays lots of civil engineers don’t have proper job. Students who choosed civil engineering at that time, looking at the huge job opportunities are mostly frustrated nowadays due to lack of sufficient jobs. This situation illustrates that job market is short lived and students are ruining their life by choosing their career in accordance to job demands.

Further, even though job market is not dynamic as weather change in Pokhara, students should stick to their interest as happiness level becomes significant in working according to the interest. For instance, If MS Dhoni had focused on engineering -which Is believed as secure future career in India - by not following his passion then he would never have been the great cricket player. He took risk to look his inside rather than looking outside by not following the trend. Similarly, students also should discover their interest and passion which, in last make them happy along with success.

Of course, in this globalized world, there is a lot of competition to get highly paid job. Unemployment is increasing day by day. Seemingly, students should focus on courses that lead to a secure job but in reality, only following the inner interest lead them to get proper job and inner satisfaction.