Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Whether the university should require all faculty to work outside in the relevant to the courses they teach? To large extent, I agree this advise, because let the faculty to work in the relevant field can promote the academic research and teaching. However, this advise does not apply to the faculty in all fields. therefore, I am not agree with this policy.

professor can benefit from the non-academic working experience, because they would know the industrial requirement and social needs better. By conducting the research with most social value, the professors can not only gain higher agreement, but also contribute more to the society. such as, the biological professors have opportunity to work in biological company, he/she would have more comprehensive understanding of current biological needs -- may be some difficulty to struggle with dieases. when he/she return to the college, he/she can focus on the pressing industrial needs, to test more effective drugs to handle the diease, therefore benefit the society. this deduction can extend to other applied science fields. therefore, science study would benefit from working outside the academic.

The advantage of understanding the industrial needs can also extend to teaching, thereby letting students have better preparation for career. when the faculty clearly know the industrial needs, their students would benefit from the more clear and more thorough understanding of career prospect. Compare with the colleages who do not leave the college, an active participant of non-academic and industrial computer faculty would naturaly know the field needs better and what kind of coding quality is necessary in this rapid chaging field. He/She can share his/her perspective with students to help them to become more productive members in the society to gain advantage and competence. In short, the professor who works in industrial field can become effective channel to transfer employers needs to potential employees, which would be beneficial to their students.

Despite of the above advantages, I think I need to point out that requrieing faculty to work outside academic is not always beneficial. some fields, such as pure mathematic and astronomy, are reletaviely weak related to industry. Under this circumstance, faculty cannot find suitable jobs, even they find it, their study cannot benefit the industry, even the society value is facile. The characteristic of these fields make the students cannot find a job that fully fit what they learn. For example, there is not company try to solve the difficult mathematic problems. Thus, requring faculty in these fields to work outside academic is fruitlyess no matter in time or resources.

In a nutshell, requiring faculty to work in the industry can benefit them both in research and teaching. On other hand, force the faculty who does not have strong correlation with industry to follow this rule cannot achieve the ideal object. therefore, even I am fully agree with this advice, but the reasonability should be considered seriously.