Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach

In today's world money is the biggest factor in any field, any department. It has become the most integral part of lives. We judge everyone around us by how much they earn or where they work. Life has become quite monotonous as such. So it is almost impossible to change this ongoing trend. So a question arises of how do we acclimatize ourselves better in this workaholic environment. Our should be the first ones to teach us about it. So without wasting any time further lets jump to our today's topic "Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach".

I strongly agree with our topic. It is quite important for our teachers to first understand and learn the requirements of today's market. By analysing the demand of the market and then by teaching us new things which help us fulfil the demands is the second task. Practical knowledge is of utmost importance. Being a book worm doesn't help in the outside world. We need to know how to apply our skill sets in real time.

Let us take a simple example where a computer engineering student is taught various coding languages like C, C++, java, html during his former years. But in real time this languages are quite outdated and the languages like python, R are in trend. So thus to bridge this gap faculty working outside college and universities can help. They can add an extra dimension to their to teaching which is of most importance when that child goes for a job interview.

Every student has to make a major project during their final year and they are collaborated with a college faculty. The faculty guides them on their journey throughout the year. If the faculty is knowledgeable he/she will help the student pick a very good real-life application topic and not just any lame project topic which might of be no use ahead. This is the fine line which is developed when a faculty has worked in the outside world in his/her specific field. When real life application knowledge is interwoven with the theory of books and its curriculum, it creates a spark which is completely different. The student who is nurtured with this spark can never be touched. He will never backdown in his future while working in his field.

Thus I would like to conclude here and would strongly urge the colleges and universities to send their faculty in the outside world, even if it is for a small amount of time. It would help in shaping a better future for your students.