Colleges and universities should require all

faculty to spend time working outside the academic

world in professions relevant to the courses they

teach.

It is too extreme to verify that all of the faculty in the colleges and universities should spend time working outside the academic world related to the courses they are researching compulsorily.Whether this kind of requirement would be beneficial for faculty differs in different fields.

On one hand,it must admit that in the fields which are paying much attention to their applied functions,it is essential for the researchers to be close to the work regarding .For one things, they teach skills rather than theories.For example,the teachers who are major medicine need to work in the hospital to observe the real efficiency and side effect of a kind of medicine as well as make the study about patients advice and preference about the medicine.Moreover,the journalism is commonly seemed as the subject demanding keep constant touch with the public.Their report should always reflect the prevail social events and articulate public attitude toward the society development.For the subjects such as the computer science,it is important to not lose contact with the prevail and adjust their teaching as well as researching directions along with the universal development.

On the other hand,for the subjects attaching importance on the theory research,it would be less useful and even time-wasting for them to do such job which occupied the time to do experiment and search reference.For instant,the theoretical physics is a science that the scientists must spend nearly all of their time to form a hypothesis from the evidence of the past lab research ,observations,because most of the theory may not be proved through the real world such as the relative theory ,a subject based on the speculation.Besides,the nature sciences are surrounding by related books,discussions with their workmates all the time.Philosophy is well-known as a subject major in reasoning and the daily work of philosophers is to do the logic conjectures not to do social contact in the society.

In addition,the fields dominant by the imagination require more free time to reflect freely about life,beauty and humanity,especially in the art field.Freelancers are the representatives,whose a considerable proportion of their working period is monopolized by traveling,reading or just surfing on the Internet.But consequently,their works prove to be highly-qualified.

In conclusion,different fields concentrate on the different proposes respectively.For those aiming to the public,it is essential for them to practice in the social employment,but for others which are always aliened from the common ,it seems kind of useless.