Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach

Colleges and universities hire faculties which meet the university’s requirements and are skilled in their respective fields. The colleges and universities do not find allotting time for the faculties to work outside the academic world as the institutions require them to teach the students their respective courses. I strongly agree with the policy that universities and colleges should require their faculties to spend time working outside the academia in their respective fields. I think this way mainly because of two reasons.

Firstly, working outside the academic world would provide the faculty with more exposure in their fields and are likely ot gain much more practical experience from it rather than working in the same monotonous enivronment in their institutions. The faculty may be able to gain more field work or may be able to attend events pertaining to their fields which would eventually result in the professor gaining more knowledge from them. If the faculties of the institutions gain more knowledge and gain more experience through this policy then it would be more beneficial to the institutions as they would endorse such skilled personnel. This would be further supported by the various research opportunities which the faculties would carry on in the institutions and would be enabled to get government grants and opportunities.

Secondly, if the faculties are allowed for working outside the institutions then they may be able to attend more conferences, events or may meet new people which would result in increasing the networking between the faculties and their counterparts. It would thus be beneficial as the faculty would be under the institution's banner and endorse the institution's name everywhere, thus increasing the universitiy's reputation among the academic world. It may also happen that if the faculty may not be able to perform a research alone but, because of the networking during his time outside the institution, may have enabled him to meet another faculty of another institute. They may then be able to carry out the research jointly which would benefit both the institutions.

Thus, the policy would be beneficial for not only the faculty but also be much more beneficial to the institution as it may increase the institution's reputation and may also enable the institutions to get grants for the research by the faculty.