Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The write of the issue states that university faculties need to spend time on working outside the university in the field that related to those course they teach. From my perspective, it can be a great deal for faculties due to the reasons I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, faculties can use their knowledge to help the world outside the university. They already have been professional in the field they teach in the university as a professor. As a result, they can use their knowledge changing the society to a better place. For instance, imagine a professor in a engineering field like industrial engineer, and he already is in the top ranked professor in a country. He can use his knowledge to change the industry by giving some fresh ideas that can help to improve production. By doing so, the company he works on make a lot of profit, and can use it in other fields. Consequently, the knowledge of the professor can change the economy of the country.

Moreover, the professor always read articles and papers in academic world and he does not know about industry. A break from academic world into the reality can help him to understand everything he read before in real life. As a result, when he want to teach courses which are skillful on them, he can use his experiences in a real life to expound the terms for the student. For example, an engineer professor always read how to steam machine works, but he did not see one of those in real life. Hence, after a while in industry, he can learn new thing about steam machine when he work with it. Therefor, he can explain better the term of those machine for students.

Taking all factors above into consideration, the university should require all faculties to spend time in real life outside the academic world in order to have more productive professors. By doing so, not only professors can use their knowledge to improve industry, but also they can improve their knowledge in the field they work on, so they can have more effective course in universities.