Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In the age of communications academic endeavors reach far behind the boarders of any nation. Many universities and colleges have strong connections with foreign educational institutes in areas of research, sports, cultural exchanges, and so on. Student exchange is one of the efforts made by universities to help strengthen these bonds and also provide students with the opportunity of such an experience.

When students spend a semester studying in a foreign country they have the opportunity to gain a unique experience. The experience of living abroad can help a person realize his shortcomings and also serves as a test of their abilities to survive in a different social environment. They will also have the chance to experience another culture. In the current state of the business world where working with international markets are one of the most profitable options, this experience can be the cornerstone for the student’s possible future international professional endeavors.

But there are some other considerations which might be of importance in analyzing this issue. The most important issue that might be problematic is the financial issue. Traveling abroad is not cheap and costs of staying abroad is even higher than travel costs. Not all families are able to provide their children with the resources necessary for studying abroad. The only effective way to cope with this problem is that either the universities or the government must pay for the student’s studying abroad, but this is hardly a viable solution since both the government and universities are often in dire financial straits.

Even if we could find a magical solution for the financial issue, there are other considerations which might have a bearing on the issue. First of all there might be a paucity of foreign universities of acceptable standards for the students to attend, especially when one considers the high number of such students and the limited number of good universities. Secondly there is the high number of travels which will be created as a result of introducing such policies. The travel demands are so high that there might not be enough means of travel to transfer the high number of added travelers.

The experience of living in a foreign country and getting in touch with foreign culture and society can be very rewarding for the students. Yet the idea of requiring all students to study abroad is not a good one. It will put a heavy financial burden on the families and the government, and its feasibility is questionable.