“Since a competing lower-priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury’s circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper.”

The argument states that in order to counter the decrease of the mercury’s circulation, its price should be lowered to the level of that of another newspaper, the bugle. stated in this way the argument fails to mention key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. therefore, the conclusion is weak and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that a lower price will undoubtedly lead to an increase of readers. this is a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument doesn’t demonstrate any correlation between price of a newspaper and its popularity. Moreover, it could be totally possible that the reason why the mercury’s circulation has declined compared to that of the bugle is rather the quality of its content.

Second, the argument suggests that discount in price of the mercury’s newspaper should be maintain at least until it has enticed enough readers. one again, the argument provides no substantive evidence to prove that the attracted new readers will still be loyal and buy the newspaper when its price will be back to normal. Furthermore, the idea of lowering the price temporarily might just have a short-term effect and cannot be considered as a sustainable solution.

Finally, it is assumed that if by any chance the number of readers for the mercury’s newspaper increases the number of businesses that want to buy advertising space will increase. again, there is nothing to justify this claim. The argument should have based its claim on tangible evidences such as data for instance or should have conducted a survey to get businesses insights. On the opposite, it may be that the type of readers of the mercury’s newspaper doesn’t correspond to the type of client the businesses want to target. without such information, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantive evidence

To conclude, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. The argument could be considerably strengthened if it mentioned all the relevant factors and used a more holistic approach. In fact, no clear evidence or analysis seems to have been made to supports the claims. without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.