The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department.

The arguments states that in order to counter the decrease in revenues of the company, the purchasing of raw materials should be taken over by the sales department and manage by a person who knows the properties of metals, typically a person of the research division. stated in this way, the argument fails to mention key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. therefore, the is weak and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the decrease of revenues is caused directly from the purchasing of raw materials, but no substantive evidence is provided to support this claim. indeed, the argument should have clearly provided an example to demonstrate that the purchasing is at issue, then the argument would have been more convincing. Furthermore, nothing proves that if the purchasing of the raw materials is properly managed, the revenues will increase. indeed, it is possible factors such as the selling and the manufacturing chain may adversely impact the revenues of the company. No direct correlation can be made between the purchasing and the revenues of the company without a detailed analysis.

Second, the argument suggests to replace the manager in charge of the purchasing by a person who knows the properties of metals. this claim is unsounded and seems exaggerated. On one hand, one doesn’t necessarily need to know the properties of the metals to manage the purchasing successfully, and on the other hand, the company should have thought to alternative and more appropriate solutions. For instance, the company could have given some training to the manager or have allocated a scientist who can teach him the ins and outs of the purchasing of raw materials.

Finally, proposing to replace the manager by a scientist could lead to severe consequences to the company. Although the argument recognizes the knowledge of the manager in terms of general business, sociology, etc., the argument barely evaluates if a scientist could have these valuable skills. Hence, designing a scientist to be a manager may probably lead to less benefits than having a manager.

To conclude, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. it could be considerably strengthened if the company mentioned all the relevant factors and adopted a more holistic approach. without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.