Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

*The assertion that competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education is a controversial one. On one hand in this competitive world, only the grades defines the intellectual level of individual whether or not the person has knowledge about the subject, on other hand competition for the grades increases the quality of education and understanding for the subject. However I believe that such competition has lowered the quality of education.

*Nowadays we already know that scoring good grades in examination is very important as our entire future depends on those grades and we get all the admissions on basis of our grades. Hence, students nowadays just concentrate on getting grades instead of deeply understanding the subject. This seems an easy way for students as it takes less time to learn all the bookish terms instead of understanding them. For example understanding an entire theorem of mathematics takes a lot of time, while it takes only minutes to learn it without thorough knowledge.

*Moreover, our education system does not check the understanding of student in the subject, it only checks the remembering skills of student. For example if a student attempts a question and give a perfect bookish answer, he'll get more grades compared to student who has knowledge in that topic but does not know the bookish terms. Because of such practices students are motivated to cram the theories instead of understanding them.

*However, such competition takes the best out from a student. Student aiming at higher grades are highly focused, smart and diligent. A direct consequence of this is that such students ensure all round development. For example, consider a top-tier university student getting high grades. This student would indirectly raise the quality of learning through his/her efforts – research work, good internships, extra-curricular activities, and social works.

*To conclude, intense competition for high grades has its merits and demerits. However, its demerits like immaturity about subject, and cramming things far outweighs its merits. Therefore, such intense competition indirectly reduces the quality of learning rather than raising its level.