Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.
The students like to get good grades; becasuse good grades make them feel well and also some
people think students who achieve excellent grades are also excellent. This opinion is may
or may not be true. The prompt indicating or suggesting that students should not compete for
high grades because it limits the depth of learning. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this
suggestion and argue that students who are competing for high grades, are restricting themselves
in deep understanding of a subject for two reasons.
Grades are temporary but excellent understanding of the topic is important and it makes the knowledge
permanent. Inclination towards obtaining high grades, only just confirm the temporary or immediate
achievement.If a student graduates from the college at that time initially the grade is important
for new job or for pursuing higher studies. But after getting enrolled in a job or higher studies,
his high grades become merely important. The thing only which matter most is his deep
understanding of the knowledge of a topic or a subject. If he was only compete for high grades, he will
not have a good grasp of the topic, he will try different methods to increase his grades
anyhow whether memorizing the lecture sheets or only the important maths or topics which
are more important for the examination. The above example illustrates that the studens who are only
competing for high grades will only have shallow understanding of the topic.So, it's restricting
the quality of the education.
The scientists, engineers, and doctors who are great, always tried to learn the topics or subjects
in depth. They were not competed for high grades, they knew grades are less important, if they learn
the topic deeply it is normal to get good grades. For instance, Albert Einstein was a great physcist,
but at the time of solving math problems, he would take a very long time to solve the problems. He
was not able to solve the problem instanty or in a limited time. He even failed in a examination
of mathematics. But he is the great scientist, the world had ever seen. The above example depicts that
doing good in the exam, having high grades is not compulsory for being a good scientist, rather high
grades limits the quality of the education. If Einstein was only eager to get high grades in the exam,
he will not obviously spent time doing the math in creative way will rather try to understand and
memorize the steps of a math problem.
Of course, some argue that it is necessary to get high grades in the examination for enrolling into a
lucrative job or pursuing higher studies and thus it is imperative that we competer for high grades.
However, it is possible to obtain decent grades understanding the topics or subjects in depth and this
is more important for any student. And it is also possible to pursue higher studies or enroll in
lucrative job with decent grades becuause grades are not only one criteria for achieving this,
there are many other factors. In the long run, grades are merely important in our professionla life.