Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this age of cut-throat competition, getting good grades is of prime importance for all students. Many believe that success, particularly financial is directly determined by one’s grades. This has naturally led to a rat-race amongst students at all levels of education. However, critics beg to differ. They argue that intense competition for high grades amongst student has seriously affected the quality of learning. Although true to a small extent, I believe such competition has indirectly raised the quality of education.

Competition for high grades brings the best out of students. Many students have great hidden talent that goes unnoticed until they compete. For example, an MBA Finance student may have excellent skills for marketing. A competitive environment may help him/her to use his/her untapped talent to succeed.

Furthermore, healthy competition encourages one to work harder and achieve better results. In short, it acts as a stimulus. For example, competition may stimulate a B-grade student to work harder and get better results next time. Students aiming for high grades are highly focused, smart and diligent. A direct consequence of this is that such students ensure all round development. For example, consider a top-tier university student getting high grades. This student would indirectly raise the quality of learning through his/her efforts – research work, good internships, extra-curricular activities, social work etc.

On the other hand, certain people criticize this intense competition for high grades. They argue that such competition unnecessarily puts a stress on students, thereby affecting their ability of radical thinking. This, they believe, hampers the quality of education.

To conclude, intense competition for high grades has its merits and demerits. However, its merits like bringing the best out of students, exploring hidden talent and encouraging students to work harder far outweigh its demerits. Therefore, such intense competition indirectly improves the quality of learning rather than limiting it.