The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument mentioned above, the overdevelopment of the country is the concern of the council of Maple country. Therefore, they want to restrict the development of existing farmland in the country as a proposed measure. To check the argument, two examples with reverse results have been brought from two different countries. Both examples are about the price changes as a result of the fulfilment of such a proposed measure. With a closer look, we can see that the argument and also two examples have some weaknesses and they are not properly formed.

Generally, the restriction of new housing creation will affect house price changes. But the amount of change based on the different factors in the countries is different. In this argument, there is no evidence about these factors, such as economic and geographical conditions in each country. The arguments had been more valid if the practical elements of price changes would have been considered. It is difficult to understand according what factors, opponents and proponents formed their arguments. It should be checked whether or not have considered the practical elements and compared them with each other.

According to what figures, the proponents of limiting the supply of new housing have presented such an example from Chestnut County. There are no statistical figures for this example. They only mentioned that 10 years ago, Chestnut County had run a similar measure and based on the conditions at that time, the price change had been modest. Are the current conditions in Maple country similar to the conditions in Chestnut County 10 years ago? We have to consider that the price change can have different influences from year to year as the different conditions change. So, the consideration of such an example for the implementation of such a measure is not appropriate. Similarly, the example of opponents has also the weaknesses mentioned above. The situation of 15 years ago cannot be comparable with the current situation in Maple country. The arguments had been persuasive for comparison if the current conditions of the countries would have been considered.

The council of Maple country should consider the current conditions in the country. For example, they should check the number of people that need to have a house. The level of income in the country should be taken into account. They have to consider whether the limitation of house supply has adverse effects on the economic and social situations of the country or not. In other words, the proposed measure should be done based on the existing conditions in the country. Also, people's need for farmland as a source of income should be considered.

In conclusion, in my view, the arguments of opponents and proponents had been more acceptable if the proposed measure would have been checked with the current situation of the country considered. Currently, none of them is persuasive enough for making a correct and rational decision.