Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that museums should be free for the public because most of them are funded by the government, while there are some museums that charge an entrance fee. I believe that based on different circumstances, both situations can have some benefits.

*On the one hand, museums are symbol of a nation’s heritage and for each country the maintenance of its museums is very important. Museums are a bridge communication to narrow the generation gap, and they help people to enrich their knowledge about their history and ancestors. To achieve this, the governments of each country fund some public museums annually, which usually comes from people’s taxes. I agree with those who believe that it is natural to expect that museums not charge a fee. Without charge entrance fee people are more willing to go museums, and this kind of public places are more welcomed by people.

*On the other hand, charging people can be beneficial. Museums are supported by officials based on a limited budget, so if they want to keep up with other museums in the world, they have to spend more money for rebuilding and using some advanced technologies in order to attract people and tourists. For example, Madame Tussaud in London is the most popular art museum in the world. This museum is a renowned tourist attraction because some accomplished experts used new technologies for creating natural statues. The staff of Madame Tussaud offer people handsets for listening to detailed commentary about museum. Funding of such work needs more money than what the government gives them, so it is natural that they take admission price.

In conclusion, i believe that there is no clear answer for this question. Charging fees for museums entry depends on the situation and both conditions have their own benefits which are more than the disadvantages.