The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of maple country is concerned about country becoming overdeveloped. So, the council decided to restrict the housing. This policy has been already implemented in chestnut county and pine county. Both had a different effect on the housing prices. So, the councile pridicts that there could be a a significant increase in the housing prices. Although! the argument appears clear, it is obsecure and equivocal with several loop holes which left the argument in an ambiguous state.

Firstly, the author considers the situations which took long back. That is, in chestnut county the policy was implemented ten years ago where as in pine county the policy was implemented 15 years ago. This two considerations aren't resonable. Argument would have been more defendable if the author have considered a recent situation because in this fast growing society today is different from tommorow and circumstances changes every day. So, it would have been more effective if the consideration were of recent times.

However, let us assume the situation where there is no change in society or circumstances from years. Still the comparision is not reasonable because the housing price may increase or decrease that totally depends upon the geography of the place. May be the pine county and chesty county are top different from maple county in terms of geography. So, the author must have provided information comparing the geographical situation of the all the three county. Which would significantly help to strenghten the argument.

Finally, there maybe chance that the housing price's may rise significantly. But providing information about geographical location of county and comparing the situation with a recent times issue would have made the argument more defendable.