The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Adams realty and fitch realty are mentioned as the leading real estate firms in the town. There was made a contrast between both the firms. Author also have drawn a conclusion that adams are more likely to sell homes quickly when compared to fitch. But there are so many unanswered questions which made the argument obscure.

Adams has a total of 40 real estate agents where are fitch has only 25, of them many work only part time. So this makes the argument unclear, that is as there are only few agents maybe fitch may have been accepting the customers according to the availability of the agents. So maybe the revenue is low for fitch when compared to adams but there is always a chance that he have been seeling more houses which are of less cost.

Moreover, it was mentioned that the revenue of adams was twice when compared to fitch in the last year. As already mentioned this revenue cant actually decide that who can sell the house faster. If fitch had sold more houses but at a very low cost still the revenue of fitch is low but he will be the fastest seller. So, this made to be clear that who is selling more houses.

Author of the argument finally comes to a conclusion with giving a personal experience. He tells that he tried to sell a house ten years back and it took 4 months for fitch to sell it, where as last year he sold another house which took only 1 month for adams. This statement makes the argument more ambiguious by comparing the efficiency of fitch before 10 years with efficiency of adams of last year. Maybe fitch realty may also have improved in efficiency and may be they might have taken only 10 days to sell the house in the second time. So, this contrast should be made with the present efficiencies of the both the firms rather that taking things from there history.