Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The main purpose of education is to make people enlighten in thoughts and increase their ability to think creatively and imaginatively. The above statement gives two different opinions of people. Where one conveys that purpose of education is to free mind and spirit and other conveys that formal education tends to restrain minds and spirits rather than setting them free. I totally agree with statement because of many reasons and some instances for my assertion are stated below.

For instances let us consider an example of two engineering students. Where when is onetime grasper and the other takes certain time to understand the subject. The onetime grasper can complete his whole 4 years of engineering academics in 2 years while the other needs at least 6 years. But formal education system makes both of them to study engineering of 4 years. Where one completely fails and the other ends up wasting his 2 years of time course. In this case the education is directly constraining the thinking ability of student for two years of course because the one who can complete the course in two years, spends two more years in the same course. As ha has to face examination’s he can definitely not focus on thinking with free mind.

Moreover, a formal education system forces a student to attend college even when he or she has an ability of understanding the things by their own. If this time when they are attending college or school is allotted to some other course or study. He or she might have more comfortable rather than listening to the same stuff which they can study by sitting on their sofa.

Finally, I close here by stating that the formal education system directly effect the thinking ability of a student. So, I suggest is the education which is being carried by education institution is a big flaw. Instead students should be given their freedom and allow them study from home and exams should be conducted to test their ability.