Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Recently there have been major debates around true means to measure intelligence. Creativity is often cited as one of the ways

to measure intelligence. Since creativity is often an original and authentic representation of individual thoughts and inner emotions people often consider creativity as a true depiction of one's thinking capabilities and imagining scope. Creativity does represent the true capacity of one's thinking capabilities but that can not be the only true method to measure intelligence. Being a creative person does not mean that he is intelligent and vice versa.

Creativity is one of the forms in which a person expresses his inner thoughts and his imagining skills. Looking at a painting of an artist or reading a novel can help us understand how deeply and thoughtfully the true emotions of an artist are expressed through different visuals and characters. Creativity can help us to analyse an individual presentation skills but defining intelligence solely on creativity does not seem justifiable. It is very true that a person who may not be good at presentation skills might be very intelligent and have exceptional scientific or non-scientific knowledge. Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam the indian rocket scientist is a great example of this. From failing in school exams to getting rejected in multiple interviews does not mean that he was stupid. He did not have any exceptional skills in any form of creative field. Getting familiar with the rocketry field in adulthood and love for seeing the rockets touching the sky resulted in Dr. Kalam achieving the unachievable. So does creativity truly define intelligence? Not in the case of Dr. Kalam and in many more such cases. Creativity can help us to understand a person's thoughts but is not a form to measure the intelligence of a person who might be good in presentation skills or creative enough to present things which look surprising does not mean that he is intelligent. A simple maths problem may be hard for an artist and a mathematician might not be very good at creative arts.

People may argue that creativity is a true inner expression and should be used to measure true intelligence as it expresses the authentic beliefs and thoughts of a person. But this belief has a flaw as it believes that a person is exceptional in presenting his thoughts. As in the previous paragraph, it is obvious that a person with exceptional thinking skills might not always be able to express his thoughts clearly. Hence, this belief does not seem to work.

The definition of intelligence is very vague and hence measuring intelligence becomes difficult. Can an exceptional artist be called intelligent or a professional computer engineer? A person might be exceptional in art and might fail elementary grade mathematics and vice versa will be true for a computer engineer. Expertise can be developed in a field by practising it regularly. One can develop exceptional painting skills or computer programming skills but will it be sufficient to judge an individual intelligence seems doubtful. Depending only and only upon creativity to measure true intelligence does not justify and new parameters must be incorporated to best accommodate each person's uniqueness.