Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Extracurricular activities play a vital role in the holistic development of a student. A student actively participating in extracurricular

activities learns other aspects such as teamwork, patience, coordination and many more which he might not be able to learn from regular academic coursework. Cutting the funding of extracurricular activities may serve the purpose of providing a small amount of funds for building repair but will not serve any good for the student's overall development. Schools should look to reduce the funding for extracurricular activities and look for other means such as minimizing other expenses and fundraiser events which can help to contribute to the building repair without hampering the student's overall coursework.

Extracurricular activities require very little funding once it has been established. A bare minimum maintenance cost is required to keep the equipment in place and may sometimes require extra funds in order to replace damaged equipment. Take sports equipment for example, once the sports equipment has been purchased it does not need to be replaced every time. Same is the case for music equipment where once the equipment is purchased it sustains longevity. Some activities may require regular fund support such as art classes but expenses are very low and cutting the funds for extracurricular activities will not help to provide enough funds for the repair work of the campus buildings.

Extracurricular activities are an important part of keeping the students engaged and making school a happy place to study. Extracurricular activities are often fun and joyful activities in which students actively participate. I myself during my school time actively participated in Extracurricular activities as it became one of my sources of peace and a way to escape the boredom of academic coursework. I remember that being a part of a knitting society I developed my hobby of knitting and later that turned into a skill which eventually helped me to earn part-time. Most students find their peace and hobby in extracurricular activities and who knows that it might be the future career prospect of a student hence, cutting the funds for Extracurricular activities will hamper the overall development of a student or may even result in poor marks for students who have lost interest in studies due to unable to participate in fun activities.

Some people may argue that extracurricular activities are not as important as academic coursework and that cutting the funds will not affect the students much. This argument believes firsthand that academic coursework is only the true learning for a student. Students who are not bright enough need other fields to explore to make their career, which extracurricular activities may provide. Schools should look to manage the funds by either reducing the funds on extracurricular activities rather than cutting it completely also schools should look for other means such as reducing the overall expenses and organising fundraiser events to manage the repairment cost of the campus buildings.