Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendations and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The holistic development of a child requires academic as well as non-academic teachings. Academic coursework helps to develop an understanding of scientific knowledge whereas non-academic coursework helps us to learn and understand things which we practice in our day-to-day activities. Starting to learn both the coursework at an early age can help to improve the life of a child significantly making things easy, and comfortable to adapt and understand things going around. Schools can play a significant role in holistic development from a very early age of a child by including both courses with more emphasis on academic coursework.

It's difficult to imagine a day without communicating with people. Good communication skills always have a positive impact on a person's personality. Having academic knowledge won't be sufficient for a person to develop how to communicate with people or how to behave, present and engage in a conversation. People with sound academic and scientific knowledge are often seen struggling with communicating their understanding with others. Schools having non-academic coursework where one can learn how to present and engage in a conversation can help students prepare themselves for the present and future where with proper communication skills they can express their feelings and understanding with others. Other activities such as tying a rope, how to swim or even how to cook food are activities which we see on a daily basis but barely pay attention to it are important and necessary for easy and smooth survival. These activities are important and are helpful in unfavourable situations such as one when is stuck on an island. Take cooking food for example which is important and necessary to be learned for smooth and easy solitaire survival without being dependent on others. Having these activities knowledge can help to improve life significantly without having one to be dependent on others and hence, having these as a part of non-academic coursework can help to learn it easily and early making adulthood easier.

It has been observed that non-academic coursework is often more fun and easy to learn as compared to boring academic coursework. Students often develop hobbies in these non-academic coursework. I remember when I was introduced to knitting in my school as a part of co-curricular activities, I found my peace and interest in it so much so that it became my hobby which eventually turned into a source of part-time income. Schools introducing non-academic coursework can help some of the students to become great artists, skilled labourers and whatnot. Having the opportunity to learn these at an early age can help students develop it as a hobby and maybe later become full-time professionals in the field and actively contribute to the economy. Schools should incorporate these courses and make every possible effort to harness the ability of a child to develop it more profoundly and make him a professional in the field.

Some people argue that having non-academic coursework can impact the focus of a child which will eventually hamper academic knowledge. Children do find non-academic coursework fun and often participate more actively in it but that is only because these activities often get aligned with their hobbies. Learning these courses can eventually help to live comfortably. What purpose will the knowledge of graduate-level mathematics do if one does not know how to scan the terms and conditions to make a good investment? Hence, schools should include non-academic courses with more focus on academic courses so that they lead to the holistic development of a child and best prepare him for adulthood.