Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Judgement on a particular issue with accuracy to acceptable limits requires critical understanding and logical background of that particular issue. An expert is the one who has through understanding of the particular field, and can provide some insights on it. The author asserts that critical judgement on any issue ,to be valid, requires expert from that particular field of interest. I mostly agree with the authors assertion for two reasons mentioned below. However, i do concede that in some cases anyone outside the field may provide a different perspective.

First of all, an expert: individual working in a particular field for a long time, has thorough understanding of the field on which the issue is based on and can point out the major inconsistencies which if eliminated by any means can prove to be fruitful. For instance; A scientist working on the field of astronomy can provide better insights about the solar system, life on mars, and other issues pertaining to the space outside world. Additionally, A programmer working on identifying bugs on software can detect issues with the program and can suggest a alternative way out of that. Experts of those particular field can eliminate the alternative possibilities and can provide a critical judgement after through analysis of the subject matter. They can present all their findings logically which can convince most of the people and bring about the change in the way people perceive those issues.

Secondly, Experts have proper understanding of the extremes of their fields, and can detect out erroneous attributions at their first glance. They mostly have developed intution which leads to common mistake or issues readily pointed out, whereas, if given a chance to any person outside the field may not be able to critically analyze the issue. He/she thus cannot provide a appropriate judgement with logical reasoning. For instance, a painter, expert in a modern art can readily point out issues in the painting, whereas, a common layman may not be able to comprehend the art in first place. So, the layman has tendency for erroneous judgement. Additionally, a expert at writing literature, say novel, may have good insights about writing techniques and can potentially judge a piece of writing critically than a normal scientists or any other not an expert on that particular field. In cases like these, experts can be a essential assets to have critical judgement on any issues and bring about significant change.

However, the case may not be exclusively correct, and in some cases, an individual from outside a particular field can provide profound insights or alternative vision on particular issue. In other words, the person outside can provide a different angle or perspective that may prove to be fruitful. For instance, a fallacy associated with the experiment by a scientist working in the field of physics can be pointed by another working in a different field and is unaware about that.

In conclusion, a expert has better understanding on particular issue than a normal man, so the critical judgement by proper analysis of the issue, provided by expert generally outweighs the analysis and judgement of a layman. So, i mostly agree with the authors proposition, that a expert can provide a better critical judgement.