"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

From food items to electronic gadgets, corporations intend to maximise their profits in every possible way. While this may be beneficial to the organisation, it leads to negative impacts on the general welfare of its consumers and hence, the nation it is setup in as a whole.

Often, corporations try to maximise their profits by sorting to cheap quality items with the intention of selling them at the same price as before. This most commonly affects the health of the consumers across multiple dimensions depending on the product. Consider the example of Samsung Note 3 which made headlines in every newspaper for numerous phone bursting cases. After a point, people were not allowed in flights to carry this phone with them. Similarly, McDonald's, a food brand known for its highly quality and hygiene made news when the consumers faced health issues post the consumption of their food. So what is it that led to such gigantic impacts on the consumers of this brand? Was it mere carelessness? But had it been carelessness, it would have stopped after a few cases. Which leads to the assumption that it was a result of reduction in quality (obviously to maximise profit).

And, it's not just private corporations. Even governmental organisations lead to such cases for cost saving purpose. Have we not heard of bridge collapsing? Or for that matter buildings collapsing? Post investigation, the results are mostly that low quality cheap material was used that led to such mishaps. It is sad to see that innocent public becomes the victim of these evil ideas wherein no efforts are made to analyse the impact or the outcomes of such moves by these corporations.

In the end, I would like to suggest that corporations should try to come up with intelligent ideas for cost saving and a responsible person should be assigned an important task like this. For instance, when Pepsi Co. planned its cost saving project, instead of a reduction in the quality, they reduced a very negligible quantity of the drink from each container of Pepsi, unnoticeable by an individual. But as a whole, this small quantity made a huge difference as whole for the organisation. Such ideas do not have a negative impact on the consumers and the nation as a whole.