People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

I strongly agree with the given statement that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. While I am in support of the fact that we cannot be stone hearted at all times, I strongly feel that such emotions should not be allowed to overcome the practicalities of real life situations. Where on one hand, it is alright to be sympathetic with others, empathy is something that should barely be used, as this is what leads to making stupid decisions and repenting for the same later.

My first argument would be that, people who make decisions based on emotions first and use logic for the justification of poor outcomes outright lack sensibility. Logic is something that guides the path to a favourable outcome and introducing emotions while making a decision causes just the opposite. Consider the example, where a person is held at gunpoint by a criminal. Suppose by serendipity the tables are turned and the gun ends up in the hands of the victim. Now if the criminal gives a harangue about some sob story and pleads the victim to show some mercy to which the victim falls prey out of emotion and leaves him, it is quite evident what the consequences to the same will be. The victim made a fool of himself (probably got killed) by not using logic and letting his emotions overcome his mind.

My second argument would be that, one should always know when to stand by your choices and when to learn from bad decisions. People who lack the quality of learning from their mistakes tend to be poor decision makers, simple because they are not ready to accept why and what they did wrong. For example, a shopaholic person is one who loves to do shopping and the most common excuse they give for buying products they did not even require in the first place is that they found it attractive or appealing. But is it okay to be a shopaholic at the cost of being bankrupt also? Have we not seen numerous people who are extremely broke but still not ready to give up on their imbecile shopping obsession? This is the most common and appropriate real life example where people tend to go by emotions and not logic.

I would like to conclude by saying that learning from our mistakes is the best possible way to avoid making new ones. One should be wise enough to know where to use logic and where to go by emotions. I guess, this is what differentiates a poor decision maker from an intelligent one. While it is fine to make a bad decision the most important thing to do is to act sensibly after making one and not justify the same with idiotic logic. Rather, time should be spent on improvising or correcting the mistakes made.