The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large
Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.
In today's world, desire and necessity of people are increasing day-by-day. However, the rising of
greed is not limited to a single individual or a small group of people. It is prevailing to all the small
and big organization whose primary motive is only to make more profit either ethically or unethically.
Organization's desire for more profit, thereby more money, affected the society at large on various
factors such as health problem, Safety issues, increase in corruption. Therefore, I agree with the
above assertion that focussing more on profit aspect will develop conflicts with the general welfare
of the society and nation at large.
One such horrific scenario was the finding of pesticides in the soft drinks by famous brand Pepsi. In
order to make people addicted to their soft drink brand, the company allows the use of pesticides
and did not concern about the various health problems that the customers will encounter after the
intake the soft drink. Such consumption by the customer often leads to fatal cases and death of the
consumer.
Another such scenario is generally been seen in the construction projects where the safety of
people at large is neglected just to make more profit. The construction group uses low-quality
material and follow less standard practices in order to construct buildings, highway. Due to the use
of such low-quality material, these constructions collapsed even in low Richter scale earthquakes,
leading to many casualties and deaths. Along with the human loss, the collapse also degrades the
current infrastructure and nation's image across the world.
The greediness of organization also gave rise to corruption at large. The higher management
people tries to bribe the government officials as well as people who are working for their competitor.
These tricks are been done in order to get big government project. This way corruption increases
day-by-day and damages the national economy, thereby leads to less growth rate of a nation.
Therefore, the desire for more money through more profit affects the society in various ways and
thereby, conflict with the general welfare of society at large.