The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.

A corporation works for profits only. No person would work for a loss, so the desire of a corporation to maximize profits is genuine. A nation's welfare depends to some extend on the services provided by a corporation based in the country.

Corporations working on maximizing there profits would be seen as an asset for the welfare of nation. To earn profits country work on improving there products and technologies used which at the end contributes for welfare of the company.Here, the example of Reliance Jio can be considered. Jio was brought up to earn profits to the firm, but the services provided by Jio were of much better quality so as to prove a great competition to already established firms. Jio not only can up with their sim cards, but eventually kept on flourishing by launching various products like mobile phones,etc. These services and products were made available at low cost so as to target a large crowd leading to welfare of nation.

There might be situations where the profits made by company creates conflict with the welfare of nation. Maybe, there is a situation where a corporation uses some illegal ways so as to gain profits thus causing harm to the economy of a nation. It can happen that a corporation does not pay the taxes or give any inputs to nation, in this case nations welfare may be hampered.

So, by considering above statements the desire of corporations to maximize profits does not always be proved to creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.