"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large." Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your o

Calvin Coolidge once said, " What is good for a business is what is good for America". This

clearly sums up that the desire of a corporation to maximize its profits is in the best interest of

any nation. The welfare of a nation is directly related to the happiness and betterment of its

citizens.

When a corporation makes profits, these profits are directly passed on to the employees in the

form of better incentives. This motivates them to work even harder which in turn generates more

and more profits. This hunger for profits of the business houses not only boosts a country's

economy but also improves the living standards of the people.

Though this profit making desire of a corporation is a win win for both the corporate as well as

the nation, there should be certain rules and regulations that bind these corporations to keep in

check the implication of their actions on the nature.

For example, suppose an industry in its production process produces certain harmful chemical

by-products. Instead of a proper treatment and disposal system for these harmful chemicals, the

industry dumps these chemicals directly to the nearby water-body. This may be beneficial for the

company's profits but very deleterious for the country.

Another case, where in the quest for more and more profits, a company adopts the practice of

child labor for cheaper man power, this maybe in the best interest of the company's balance

sheet, but a huge threat to the nation's future.

In yet another such case, an industry compromises with the quality of its machines and

equipment for cost cutting at the cost of the safety of its employees. This may result in attractive

profit numbers but is it in the best interest of the nation as a whole?

Undoubtedly, a nation's progress is largely dependent on the progress of its industries and

people, but at the same time there should be certain rules and regulations governing the

operations of these corporations, making sure that this desire for profits does not come in the

way of the nations growth at large.