Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs

Discussions are done to enhance knowledge. I don't agree with the statement that discussion over the controversial topics with contrasting views people is futile as not a plethora of people change their minds when their core beliefs are challenged.

Firstly, discussions is an art which is not mastered by all. Especially when we discuss controversial issues like abortion, racism, human rights, we should be sensitive towards the views of others and should put across our point in a subtle way that it does not hurt anyone's beliefs. The discuson did with an intent to criticize or condemn others never turn out to be fruitful. For instance, when two different political parties discuss an issue on an international forum they should consider sentiments all the citizens of their nation and should not just focus on proving the other party members' beliefs wrong. Hence, discussion goals should be to come up with a fruitful result of sensitive issues.

Additionally, when we can't expect from the contrasting view people to change their beliefs so easily. We can definitely educate each other and come to common grounds.

For instance, many children are raised with the belief that killing others will take them to heaven, however, when such children are provided the right education they turn into philanthropists from misanthropists. So, we can definitely change other's points of view by educating them not by challenging them.

To recapitulate, not discussing sensitive topics with contrasting views people as they won't change their minds is not a viable point. On the contrary, we should discuss a sensitive issues in front of everyone in order to understand and get views of all types of people.