Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs

The argument presented in the prompt assumes that the objective of a discussion of controversial topics is to change someone’s core beliefs. On the contrary, a discussion is, at its core, an open exchange of information in which both parties have the opportunity to express their respective opinions and listen to opposing views. Discussions are both teaching and learning opportunities in which one’s core beliefs may be challenged, but not necessarily changed.

1

However, the opportunity to hear an opposing point of view allows someone to fully explore whether or not they have considered all facets of not only their beliefs, as they relate to the topic being discussed, but also their belief system. By engaging with another person with the objective of changing their beliefs, a person is not engaging in a discussion at all. In fact, one could characterize that as a lecture. Furthermore, core beliefs are built over time through experiences, such as discussions with those that we disagree with. Therefore, people can and do change their beliefs.

The author of the prompt fails to recognize a discussion as an opportunity to both teach and learn. To accomplish this, one must be open-minded and willing to fully engage in the discussion. Often, it takes an opposing view to force oneself to examine the essence of their beliefs. Many beliefs are built as an emotional response to a situation, rather than a logical interpretation of the complexities surrounding the issue. In an open discussion with respectful parties, one can begin to unravel their beliefs and logically examine them on their merits. In doing so, you also allow your belief system to be challenged, which can catalyze a re-examination of your beliefs and the experiences that shaped those beliefs, allowing you to understand your thought-process before committing to an idea or feeling.

2

Whether or not a person with a contrasting view changes their mind is of no consequence. If you avoid conversations with those that have contrasting views, then you are susceptible to surrounding yourself with only those people that agree with you. By doing so, you forego the benefits of an open discussion and may create an environment conducive to “groupthink”. Groupthink is an environment in which individuals surround themselves with only those people that agree with their views.

3

Any individuals that disagree with the group consensus are ultimately shunned. Groups that suffer from groupthink fail to see the validity in contrasting views and can end up escalating their commitment to an unhealthy or unproductive goal because their objectives are never challenged.

Unfortunately, it is evident that the author of the prompt sees the objective of a discussion as an opportunity to change someone’s core beliefs. That is not the case. In fact, that viewpoint contradicts the true nature of a discussion and fails to see the benefits of engaging with someone with contrasting views.