Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The speaker maintains that discussing controversial topics with those who holds contrasting views serve no useful purpose because not more people change their mind about their core belief. I am agree with the speaker because this is a topic that directly match with the reality of the discussion about controversial topics.

Admittedly, people feel less comfort when discussing a topic that directly go against the core belief, this is more often happens when persons have contrasting views toward the controversial issue. Late night talk

show

is one of the best example to discuss this issue. most of the talk

shows

presented by the intellectual person yet when they discuss about a controversial issue, like a national issue where two person has different core belief almost every cases no one give up their core belief and ultimate result of this discussion is not useful. people get very less learning contents from this kind of discussion and learning hampered, nor the speaker learn from the controversial view because they reluctant to hear view of the opponent. ultimate result of these types of talk

end up without serving any useful purpose just because less people give up their core belief for the sake of a discussion.

Simply we learn more from systemic controversy where persons has different core belief about a controversial issue still they tend to abandon their belief for the sake of an effective discussion. where they appreciate opponents view and respect toward the opponent, this is the situation where discussion is much more effective. To ensure an effective discussion, persons need to be flexible in controversial issue so that opponent get some space to

their view and careful consideration of these view is only possible when people leave behind their own core belief. For instance, if people have their own belief towards an event and that people selected to conduct a research about the public opinion that it is most probable that because of partisan mentality result of the research will be bias. very same thing also true for the discussion people with their adamant core belief always led a useless discussion.

discussion only get effective when two person has some level of intellectual thinking ability and flexible towards their core belief. A core fundamentalist and an advocate of Darwin theory of evolution never reach to an agreement because core belief these two person is contrasting. A fundamentalist strongly believes human created by the god not by the result of the evolution. ultimately, a strong core belief always led to a contrasting situation and no discussion get effective.

In sum, it is only possible to make a discussion effective in a controversial issue only when person tend to abandon his core belief otherwise in every case result of the discussion is anything but not effective.