Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

At the outset, I would say that I don't agree with the presumption that discussing contorversial topics with contrasting views is not useful, because not many people change their minds when questioned about their core beliefs. Although I agree with the notion that such discussions don't often effect changes in anyone's beliefs, but based on that avoiding debates and declaring such debates useless is an incorrect approach in my view.

In my opinion healthy debates, no matter how much controversial the topic is, should always be encouraged and undertaken, especially with kowledgeable people or people who have firm views, even if their views are opposite to ours. Such discussions bring forth various aspects which we often are unaware of or even ignore due to our biases in respect of our beliefs. Questioning your ownself plays a huge part in self -growth. Sometimes, one has very wrong idea or belief instilled due to several regions, be it social constructs, historical aspects, cultural norms or so forth; and if one holds such debates with an open mind, one may reach a new conclusions and change their own beliefs.

On the other hand, questioning ones own beliefs or questioning the beliefs of a party who has opposite views, may lead up to evidences or points which may strengthen our own views, make us understand what are weaker points in their arguements, even if they may not be able to see those, but this may strenghten our own beliefs. Hence help us grow firm in our own stance.

However, such discussions, very often turn into heated debates and one may lose their cool, and instead of agreeing to disagree both parties may get into a conflict or a an unhandleable melee which is not a preferred situation. Hence whenever one gets into a debate regarding controversial topics, we should ensure that both parties are open to discuss and should try to not let the situation get out of hand. One must know when to quit, in order to avoid a distasteful end to discussion. Such discussions may result in destruction of relationships or long-term friendships. Thus one should always be careful while getting into a controversial topic.

Thus, although I don't agree that such debates are useless, but agree that these may not result in change of beliefs very often. However, utility of such debates is not limited to change of beliefs, but getting a better understanding of any topic, delving deeper into the underlying points which form basis of any belief, and increasing own knowledge base. For this matter, healthy debates should be encouraged and undertaken often with a positive mindset.