Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

If one wants to get a better grasp of a controversial topic, it is essential to discuss it with those who have a contrasting view, even if very few people change their minds when questioned about their core beliefs.

Discussion of a controversial topic does not necessarily mean that it is being done with the sole purpose of making the other person question or change their beliefs. When someone enters a healthy debate, it is usually to put forth their view, and get to know the opposing view and make sense of where he or she stands. Yes, people usually want to win when discussing controversial topics, but that is through sensible dialogue, not through dogmaticism.

A healthy and robust discussion will ensue only if there are multiple ideas, ideologies and perspectives coming to play in the conversation. A discourse where two or more people just agree with each other all the time and nod their heads is not a healthy or worthwhile conversation. It is simply a group of people reiterating their opinion in the absence of an opposing notion. This can lead to narrow-mindedness. Such people would be extremely uncomfortable and defensive when met with contrasting views.

It is however important to note that when met with contrastingly opinionated people, most people tend to become defensive of their views and remain stubborn to be able to look at a clearer picture of the topic. This can make for a very frustrating conversation where everyone just keeps on repeating their point without even trying to understand what the other person is saying. It would be a very mercurial conversation, susceptible to bouts of angry retorts and personal insults. Overall, there would be no positive outcome.

Even so, it is wise to conclude that controversial discussions are best done with people of opposing views. It challenged the predominant ideas of people and forces them to be pragmatic and think further than they had done before.