Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs

A debate is an argument where one expresses his opinions on a certain topic and champions the issue he expatiates. One can find debates happening everywhere in his/her milieu -- from office to politics. Sometimes the debates are based on controversial topics and it can be a healthy argument if the discussion is with the right person.

For instance, if we go back in time, we can see that controversial debates have lead to fruitful outcomes. If no one argued and protested that there should equal voting rights for women, it is plausible that the women would have never cast their vote until today. We also should note that those who were against the rights of women -- maybe not wholeheartedly but did budge to their opponents' opinion.

Furthermore, A person is surrounded by people of different race and religion. Controversial topics are omnipresent and it is not possible to not acknowledge it. It is limid that the discrimination against race has pellucidly reduced only because there were people who argued against the discrimination and there were people who were ready to change their opinions.

Another stellar example would be the parliament of a democratic country, each time a bill is drafted if the cons of the bill are not opposed by the opposition party just because the opposition party presumes that the ruling party would not change their mind--the democratic country would have been a completely different place to live in. It would be filled with malicious laws benefiting the ruling party.

In a nutshell, we need to accept that two people can have a contrasting opinion on controversial statement. A discussion with a person having contrasting views will always be beneficial--unless the person is a narcissist and elitist-- the discussion would always turn out to be healthy and most likely settle on a common base.