Those who see their ideas through regardless of doubts or criticism others may express are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy

Ideas are a part of everyone's life. An idea pops to anyone from a homeless--plausibly, on how to lead a better life--to the president--plausibly, on how to make the country better--. Some ideas might be ephemeral and some might be perpetual. With that said, it is limpid that an idea invites doubts, criticism from others but a person who takes his ideas through the ups and downs and shapes them by taking suggestions from criticism and doubts is the person who tends to leave a lasting legacy.

Firstly, consider the example of a country's President. If the President propounds an idea, it is sure that there will be animadversion from the people as well as the opposing party. But if the idea is solid, gathering support from the majority and it guarantees a bright future for the country then there is nothing wrong in embracing the doubts and taking the ideas through. However, if the doubts and remarks make the idea tenuous then the President should make amendments in the ideas and then propound.

Additionally, consider the case of a scientist. There is plausibly no scientist whose ideas did not get the attention of the critics. Had Tesla been quite accepting the claims of Edison that direct current is better than alternating current it is certain that none of us would have had electricity anywhere--from home to workspace--. However, it would be obtruding to not acknowledge the fact that the criticisms and doubts did amend a lot of ideas which bounce back stronger.

Further, a paragon for this claim would be Elon Musk. At the introduction of SpaceX, everyone from NASA including Niel Armstrong--whom Elon considered his role model--cast doubt on commercial space flights. But, recently not only did he prove them all wrong by making a mark, but he also bagged a collaboration with NASA.

While it can be said that a person who takes his ideas through doubts and criticism from the critics, would make a mark. Constructive criticism plays a really huge role here. A person who shapes his ideas based on the doubts and criticism and gives out a masterpiece is the one who legit leaves a lasting legacy.