Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

For every topic we can possibly think of, we can always find people strongly opinionated for as well as against that topic. We owe this to our brains which are characteristic of individuality and idiosyncratic nature. Hence, it should not suprise us that it is plausible that general population can have a belief system much differnt than ours.

The fact that each individual is entitled to their own belief system and their own opinions about a controversial topic should not discourage us from discussing these topics or rendering such discussions useless. In fact, such discussions could prove to be far more useful in terms of expanding our perspectives and possibly, even our knowledge on the topic. We stand a chance to listen and try to see a new way of looking at the topic which we might have earlier missed, or our perspective could be offering our couterpart of such an opportunity. Either ways, this is a very good way of expanding our ability to understand our surroundings. It could be possible for our widened perspective to extend this to other topics as well. So, really, what does it matter who was right and which of them should change their mind to align with the other person's opinion, when every participant can grow.

Such a healthy discussion can even increase our topical knowledge as it is possible that we may have formed an opinion without complete knowledge on the topic, and vice versa. The key, however is to maintain the discussion to be healthy rather than a quest to change the opinions of others. Such a dogmatic approach is highly likely to appear condescending.

So, any topic, let alone a controversial one, can enhance our views and how we percieve things and sometimes, even increase our factual knowledge. Avoiding topics that where holding contrasting beliefs is seldom the right way to go about this, having seen that more of use could come from discussing them rather than not.